Full disclosure: getting a suspended license in Texas is pretty easy. Suspended licenses in Texas happen for all sorts of reasons from leaving your traffic ticket on the back burner for too long to missing fines that you didn’t know you had to maybe getting too many driving record points. But, the number one reason for a Texas suspended license is driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving under the influence (DUI). A DWI or DUI can happen to anyone.
It’s understandable to fall into an unfortunate driving offense—that’s OK. Here are a few tips that will help keep you sane and your license valid.
Reasons your license can be suspended in Texas
You may first wonder what are the circumstances that would lead to a suspended license, so I have rounded up the most common offenses for why a suspended license happens in Texas.
- Driving under the influence (Read more at: DWI license suspension in Texas)
- Drug offenses
- Excessive moving violations
- Driving with no license
- Driving without insurance
- Physical or psychological disqualification
- Other driving-related violations
- Non-driving related violations
With so many violations that could potentially get your license suspended, it’s important to always know the status of your license. If you have been pulled over, ticketed or had any other run-ins with the police as of late, it’s a good idea to check on your Texas drivers license suspension status regularly.
How much is a ticket for driving with a suspended license in Texas?
When it comes to accidentally driving around with a suspended license in Texas, chances are you’ll land a fat fine. The exact fine amount will depend on the circumstances in which you get caught. If you are suspected of drinking when pulled over, know that you may potentially be facing a mandatory suspended license in Texas and, as if that isn’t sobering enough, a sobriety test.
- No additional circumstances: up to $500 and the possibility of an extended suspension.
- Previous conviction of driving with a suspended license/suspended due to DWI: up to $2,000 fine, up to 180 days in jail and the possibility of an extended suspension.
- If you cause a wreck that results in serious injury/death: up to $4,000 fine, up to 1 year in jail and the possibility of an extended suspension.
Texas suspended license hearings
If you have a suspended license in Texas, know that there are still options for getting your license reinstated. If it’s within 15 days of your issued suspension, you may request a hearing for an ALR. What is an ALR suspension in Texas? If you want to contest your suspension, you’ll be requesting a hearing for an ALR, or an administrative license revocation.
This is one reason why it’s important to stay on top of your license status: because if the 15-day period has already passed, then you will most likely receive a denial. Don’t snooze and lose!
Texas suspended license appeals
If you ended up receiving a hearing for your suspended license in Texas but are unhappy with the result of that hearing, you can request an appeal. This request must occur within 30 days of receiving your hearing suspension letter.
For how long do Texas licenses get suspended?
The length and severity of your Texas suspended license will vary depending on the circumstances under which the suspension was acquired. Not gonna lie, this piece of information is probably not the most informative but it’s the most political answer I can offer with complete honesty.
First-time DUI offenders will not have their licenses suspended for more than 2 years unless they have other significant or related charges or if they have had their license suspended in the past. In those scenarios, the court may be able to extend the suspension beyond the 2-year threshold.
In the meantime, it’s possible that you may qualify for a restricted or occupational license.
Can you get an ID card with a suspended license in Texas?
YES, you can get an ID card even if you have a suspended license in Texas. In fact, doing so is a good idea. Instructions for how to apply for a Texas ID card can be found at the DMV website.
How much does it cost to reinstate a suspended license in Texas?
Similar to the length of a suspension, costs will also vary for reinstating your suspended license in Texas. The state likes to tack on as many fees as possible (such as Texas drivers license surcharges), but if you hire the right attorney you can avoid many of them and reduce the overall cost of having your license suspended.
How can I get my suspended license in Texas back?
If you’re wondering, “How do I get my suspended license back in Texas,” it might be wise to get legal help. Dealing with a suspended license in Texas requires much, much more time than a trip to a Texas DPS or DMV.
Don’t wait around and let the state take the driver’s seat—hire a Houston DWI lawyer that will take the lead and guide you through the entire process of getting your license reinstated.
At Thiessen Law Firm, our team has helped hundreds of Texans with their DWI suspension hearings, as well as DWI probation in Texas hearings. We’re experts in protecting DWI offenders so that their rights are protected and their penalties are reduced to the bare minimum.
- Unmarried Father’s Rights in Texas
- DWI in Texas: First Offense
- Weed in Texas
- Can You Join the Military With a Misdemeanor?
- No Fault Divorce in Texas
- Opioid Crisis in Texas