If you’re getting a 4th DWI in Texas, you probably know by now that many Texas drinking laws are designed to help law enforcement make easy arrests, regardless of whether or not someone actually broke a law. Perhaps that’s how you racked up this many DWIs up to now.
For your 4th DWI in Texas (or for really any DWI charge even before that) it’s just plain smart to get a DWI lawyer’s advice to avoid extensive penalties, rehab and jail time. In the meantime, read up on the following good-to-know information.
What is the typical punishment for a DWI in Texas?
The type and severity of your DWI punishment is determined by how many DWI offenses you’ve committed. If this is your 1st offense, Texas law includes all or some of the following punishments:
- A fine of up to $2,000
- 3 to 180 days in jail
- Up to 1 year of license suspension
- Annual fee of $1,000 or $2,000 for 3 years to retain driver license
In case you’re wondering what happens when you get a DWI in Texas 2nd offense, or when you get 3 DWIs in Texas or even a 3rd DWI in Texas during probation for your 2nd DWI, then here’s some logic you can depend on: the severity of DWI consequences increases for each conviction after the 1st.
4th DWI in Texas penalties
OK, so you’ve been pulled over on the side of the road and your blood-alcohol concentration is way over the .08 Texas BAC limit.
Here’s what you may be looking at for your 4th DWI in Texas:
- A fine of up to $10,000
- 2 – 20 years jail time
- Up to 2 years of license suspension
- An annual fee of up to $1,500 for up to 3 years
Is a DWI a felony in the state of Texas? For 1st and 2nd DWI offenders, the short answer is no. You’re more likely to receive a class B or A misdemeanor. But by the time your 3rd and 4th DWI charges, you’ll likely be facing a 3rd-degree felony.
If you’re facing your 4th DWI in Texas with more than 2 prior trips to the penitentiary, your charge gets bumped up to an enhanced felony, which bumps up your potential jail time anywhere from 25 years to life.
How to help yourself avoid a 4th DWI in Texas
At the end of the day, most police officers are simply looking to make an arrest. If you have 3 DWI convictions, you’re an easy target. With that in mind, it’s smart to be aware of certain tricks in the book that might help you get your charge dismissed later down the road.
For example, one of the first things you should ask yourself is: did the police officer who pulled me over have a legitimate reason to do so or was I unfairly targeted? If the officer doesn’t immediately tell you why they pulled you over, that should be a red flag.
Other questions to consider along these lines include:
- How is the officer acting when he/she is speaking to me?
- Have they conducted a thorough sobriety test (if they pulled you over on suspicion of DWI)
- How long after they pulled me over did for the officer wait to breathalyze me?
The devil is in the details and the more you’re able to pay attention to the actions of the police officer, the better.
What to do when you’re facing your 4th DWI in Texas
The most important thing you can do if you find yourself facing a 4th DWI charge in Texas is to call one of the best Houston DWI lawyers, Mark Thiessen of the Thiessen Law Firm. Mark and his team know what it takes to get your 4th DWI in Texas charge dismissed or how to reduce your sentence down to DWI probation. If this is your 1st DWI charge, they may even be able to get your case dismissed or deferred, earning you the chance for a DWI expungement on your criminal and driving records.
Don’t give up without a fight. Call our firm at 713-864-9000 and request a free case evaluation today.
- Have a Suspended License in Texas?
- Why you Need a Trial Attorney
- Expungement in Texas: What you Need to Know
- Famous Houston Criminal Defense Attorneys
- Fathers Rights in Texas
- DWI in Texas 1st Offense