In Texas and across the U.S., it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle while with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or greater. For minors, however, slightly different laws apply. A minor in Texas may be arrested and face misdemeanor charges and license suspension for driving with any detectable amount of alcohol in his or her system. This “Zero Tolerance” law was created to combat drinking and driving by minors and is known as Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol by a Minor (DUIA by a Minor).
Work with an Advanced Houston DWI Lawyer
If you or your child were arrested for DUIA by a Minor (under the age of 17), or DWI by a Minor (aged 17-21), you cannot afford to waste time in seeking legal counsel. You are facing a civil case and a criminal case, and you need a Houston DWI attorney who can competently handle both. At Thiessen Law Firm, we are results-driven. We fight for each client, and we are a family. We will work tirelessly toward the best possible result in your ALR hearing and criminal case.
Find out more about your rights and how our firm can protect these. Call (713) 999-3959 for a free case evaluation – we are available 24/7 to assist you.
DUIA by a Minor (Under 17)
DUIA by a Minor under the age of 17 is a Class C misdemeanor offense in Houston, punishable by:
- A fine of up to $500
- 20-40 hours of community service
- License suspension for 60-180 days
- Alcohol Awareness Course attendance
A second or third offense may result in license suspension for up to 2 years, in addition to the penalties above.
You only have 15 days to
save your license!
If you've been arrested for a DWI or DUI in the state of Texas, you are facing two cases against you. The first one is the criminal case by the state of Texas, and the other is by the Texas Department of Public Safety to suspend your license.Learn More
DWI by a Minor (17-21 Years Old)
DWI by a Minor between the ages of 17 and 21 is a Class B misdemeanor, punishable by:
- A fine of up to $2,000
- 72 hours to 180 days in jail
- License suspension for 1 year
A second offense is a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $4,000, 30 days to 1 year in jail, and license suspension for up to 18 months. A third offense is a third-degree felony, punishable by a fine of up to $10,000, 2 to 10 years in prison, and license suspension for up to 2 years.
Minors and adults alike face harsh penalties for DWI. Combating these charges is a technical matter, given the nature of blood and breath testing and the need to challenge their validity in a court of law. Our Houston underage DWI lawyers have extensive experience with this. Mark Thiessen is specially trained in BAC testing and has successfully secured Not Guilty verdicts in three separate trials where blood evidence was submitted. This is unheard of in the legal community.
Put our powerful team in your corner in the face of your underage DWI charges. Call (713) 999-3959 or contact us online to get started.