When a driver has one or more prior driving while intoxicated (DWI) convictions on his or her record, this can greatly increase penalties for a new conviction. Multiple DWI offenders are given no leniency by Harris County prosecutors and judges. You will need an aggressive and experienced attorney in your corner if you are to have any chance of avoiding a conviction.
Results-driven and passionate about fighting for our clients’ interests, we at Thiessen Law Firm have the skill and knowledge needed to represent clients facing second, third, fourth, or subsequent DWI offenses. Our Houston multiple DWI attorneys have secured Not Guilty verdicts in the most complex and seemingly hopeless cases, even in those where blood test evidence was submitted against our clients. We fight to win and will spare no effort in defending our clients’ rights.
For a free case evaluation and more information about your rights and options, call (713) 999-3959. We are available 24/7 to answer your questions.
You only have 15 days to
save your license!
If you've been arrested for a DWI or DUI in the state of Texas, you are facing two cases against you. The first one is the criminal case by the state of Texas, and the other is by the Texas Department of Public Safety to suspend your license.Learn More
Penalties for a Second DWI Offense
A second DWI is charged as a Class A misdemeanor in Texas, with penalties that may include a fine of up to $4,000, a minimum of 30 days in jail, and license suspension for up to 2 years. Additionally, you may face an annual DPS surcharge of $1,000-$2,000 to be paid for 3 years, and an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
A Third DWI Is a Felony Offense in Houston
A third DWI is far more serious and is charged as a third-degree felony, punishable by:
- Up to 10 years in prison
- A fine of up to $10,000
- 2-year license suspension
- $1,000-$2,000 annual surcharge for 3 years
- Mandatory ignition interlock device installation
Unlike other states that have a limited “lookback period” to see whether you have any prior DWI convictions, in Texas your entire driving history is taken into account. Even if you have a prior DWI from 10 or more years ago, it will be taken into consideration and you will face the increased penalties associated with a subsequent DWI conviction. This makes retaining a top-notch attorney all the more important to your future.
Our Houston 2nd, 3rd, and 4th DWI lawyers have a track record of results that shows our true commitment and skill. Put us in your corner and you can rest assured that you have the most advanced team fighting for you. Our attorney is also Board Certified in DUI Defense by the DUI Defense Lawyers Association!
Contact Thiessen Law Firm online or call (713) 999-3959 for your free consultation.