You can’t afford all the Houston DWI penalties. Fight now and contact our team at 713.864.9000 to schedule your free case evaluation. We serve Houston and the surrounding areas and are available 24/7 to fight for you.
Avoid significant penalties with our seasoned DWI defense attorneys
When a driver has one or more prior driving while intoxicated (DWI) convictions on his or her record, this can greatly increase penalties for a new conviction. Multiple DWI offenders are given no leniency by Harris County prosecutors and judges. You will need an aggressive and experienced attorney in your corner if you are to have any chance of avoiding a conviction.
Results-driven and passionate about fighting for our clients’ interests, DWI defense specialist Mark Thiessen and the team at Thiessen Law Firm have the skill and knowledge needed to represent clients facing second, third, fourth, or subsequent DWI offenses. Our Houston multiple DWI attorneys have secured Not Guilty verdicts in the most complex and seemingly hopeless cases, even in those where blood test evidence was submitted against our clients. We fight to win and will spare no effort in defending our clients’ rights.
Penalties for a second DWI offense
Fortunately, a second DWI in Texas is not considered a felony. Instead, a second DWI is charged as a Class A misdemeanor in Texas.
Penalties for a second DWI offense include:
- A minimum of 30 days in jail
- A potential total of up to 1 year in jail
- A fine of $2,000 – $4,000
- Potential license suspension for up to 2 years.
Individuals found guilty of a 2nd DWI may also be required to attend courses and install an ignition interlock device. These penalties have the potential to be twice as bad as a first-time DWI offense (which carries a fine of up to $2,000 and 3-180 days in jail). Additionally, since a second DWI offense is a repeat of a similar prior offense, you are more likely than not to receive the full extent of the penalty than you were with your first offense.
If you decide to take your DWI case to trial, keep in mind that it is now also now law that juries are allowed to be told whether or not you’ve received a prior DWI conviction.
Finally, if you are convicted of a 2nd DWI offense, your DWI is no longer eligible to be sealed on your record in Texas. In other words, that DWI will earn a permanent place on your record.