Free Consultation713.864.9000

Intoxication Manslaughter

Texas Board of Legal Specialization in Criminal Law
Super Lawyers
Lawyer Scientist
Avvo Rating
AV Preeminent
TCDLA
Dui Defense Lawer
National College
National Trail Lawyer

Intoxication Manslaughter Lawyer in Houston

Searching for a Houston intoxication manslaughter lawyer? Odds are, you need to make some tough decisions very quickly. Know that as you read this, the prosecutor is working with law enforcement to build their case against you.

What Other Intoxication Manslaughter Lawyers Won’t Tell You

Choose a Houston intoxication manslaughter attorney carefully. Did you know very few Houston DWI lawyers have successfully tried intoxication manslaughter cases? Don’t be fooled by loud billboards or glossy commercials. We win.

Sure, there are tons of attorneys out there who know the law and practice it, but it takes a special kind of defense attorney to actually WIN a case in the District Court. The simple fact is that not every Houston attorney knows how to beat a DWI, much less Houston intoxication manslaughter charges.

How to Choose a Houston Intoxication Manslaughter Lawyer

Do your search carefully, yet quickly. Does this attorney have a track record of beating charges of intoxication manslaughter in Houston or Texas? While intoxication manslaughter cases do not occur often, the Thiessen Law Firm has successfully tried DWI cases just like yours:

Fighting Houston Intoxicated Manslaughter Charges

Why does selecting the best Houston intoxication manslaughter attorney matter so much? In Texas, a first-conviction DWI charge alone can put you $2,000 in the hole and take away your driver’s license for up to one year. Meaning if you are being accused of intoxication manslaughter, you had better get a strong team to stand behind you—one that will fight for you and your freedom.

Further, if you’ve been charged with intoxication manslaughter in Houston you need to know what the stakes are here. Intoxication manslaughter charges are taken much more seriously—and rightfully so.

You have 15 days to save your driver's license

Act fast if you've been charged with DWI or DUI in Texas. Here’s something you might not see from other Houston DWI Lawyer websites: If you've been arrested for a DWI or DUI in the state of Texas, you are facing two cases against you. The first one is the criminal case by the state of Texas, and the other is by the Texas Department of Public Safety to suspend your license.

License Suspension

In Texas, intoxicated manslaughter charges are classified as second degree felonies. That means defendants can be charged with the following:

  • Fines that reach up to $10,000
  • Prison sentences that range between 2 and 20 years
  • 240 hours of community service with room for an additional 800 hours at the state’s discretion

If the penalties listed above weren’t enough, other factors can quickly snowball against you. For example, facing a DWI second offense in Texas, or already being on DWI probation in Texas could quickly bring enhanced charges against you. In fact, there are some legislators that are pushing to make life in prison a potential penalty for intoxication manslaughter in Texas.

Assemble Your Intoxication Manslaughter Defense Team
There are two crucial characteristics that set us apart from other Houston intoxication manslaughter lawyers. First, Mark Thiessen is one of the only defense attorneys that has the title of a lawyer-scientist and is Board Certified in DUI Law by the DUI Defense Lawyers Association.

That means he is not only trained extensively in the court of law, but also in scientific approaches to examining—and finding scientific flaws-—in evidence. It’s no secret that the technologies that law enforcement is using to convict people with DWI and intoxication manslaughter charges are outdated and faulty at best.

Mark has extensive training in scientific approaches that have won some of Houston’s most famous intoxication manslaughter defense cases, including a case that acquitted on not one, not two, not three, but FOUR counts of intoxicated manslaughter.

So what’s next? If you find yourself in a bind and are being accused of intoxicated manslaughter, you know what to do. Contact us for a free consultation, or pick up the phone, day or night, and call 713.864.9000. We’ll start fighting for your freedom and reputation immediately.

Related Practice Areas

aggressive defense