If you’ve been arrested for drinking and driving, then you’ll need to get ready to fight back against a DWI license suspension in Texas. While there is a criminal component of a DWI (where you could face jail time, fines, and community service), there is also a civil component of a DWI. This is where the DWI license suspension comes into play.
At Thiessen Law Firm, we have a lot of experience with this particular aspect of DWIs. Let’s take a few moments to discuss how to fight a DWI in Texas, so you can avoid a mandatory license suspension.
Is your license suspended after a DWI in Texas?
After you’ve been hit with a DWI, you need to request a hearing. This is known as an Administrative License Revocation (ALR) hearing. When you work with our firm, we’ll request this hearing on your behalf. But don’t worry. If you find us after requesting the ALR hearing, we can still help out.
Important details you should know about ALR Hearings:
- You must request a hearing within 15 days of your arrest
- Hearings are usually scheduled 5-8 months after your request
- You do not have to attend an ALR hearing
- It is recommended that you do not attend an ALR hearing if you’re worried the officer who arrested you may attend the hearing (this could work against you)
- However, if you work with a law firm like ours, we can cross-exam the police officer and discredit their testimony (which often works in a defendant’s favor and results in a win)
- If the police officer does not show up to the ALR Hearing and they were properly subpoenaed, then you will win the civil case and you will not face a mandatory license suspension
- If, for some reason, you do lose the civil case and your driving privileges are suspended, we can help you receive an Occupational Driver’s License (ODL), which is a restricted license that allows you to drive to work and school
- It can be difficult to be approved for an ODL, so it’s important to work with a law firm that can handle the paperwork and details on your behalf
What happens if this isn’t your first DWI?
If you took a BAC test and failed it and this is your first DWI, then you’ll likely face a 90-day DWI license suspension in Texas. However, if this is not your first DWI, then you will be up against a longer suspension. At this point, you’ll likely face a 2-year license suspension.
To learn more about Houston DWI penalties, check out the following resources:
- This is my first DWI in Texas
- This is my second DWI in Texas
- This is my third DWI in Texas
- This is my fourth DWI in Texas
What happens if you refused a breath or blood test?
If you refused a blood or breath test and now you’re faced with an ALR hearing and DWI license suspension in Texas, things will be different. While refusing a breathalyzer test is legally allowed, you could face harsher penalties. Here’s what you could be looking at:
- First DWI with refusal: license suspension for 180 days
- 2nd DWI with refusal: license suspension for 2 years
Keep in mind, this doesn’t automatically mean that your license will be suspended for this duration. It simply means that the court will attempt to suspend your license for this duration. With the right defense, however, you can still avoid a license suspension even if you refused a breathalyzer test.
How to get help you with your DWI license suspension in Texas
A DWI license suspension in Texas can affect a big portion of your day-to-day life and certainly have a lasting negative impact (especially if your job relies on your ability to get places). So, let us help you avoid one.
With our team at your side, we can help you overcome a potential license suspension and while we’re at it, even help you avoid the penalties associated with a criminal DWI case. With hundreds of Not Guilty verdicts and thousands of case dismissals under our belt, we are considered Houston’s go-to firm for DWIs. We know how to get your license back after a DWI in Texas.
Give us a call or request a consultation to get help today.
More Helpful Articles by Thiessen Law Firm: