Texas Arson Defense Attorney
If you have been charged with arson in Texas, contact attorney Mark Thiessen at 713-864-9000 or request a free case evaluation. Mark is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to ease your concerns and protect your freedom.
The first thing you should do if ever arrested for arson is use your right to remain silent. DO NOT provide any statements to arson investigators, police officers, insurance companies, or any other person without an attorney present to protect your rights. Arson crimes carry civil and criminal ramifications. Arson investigators are one of the most rapidly responding teams in the city. Protect your financial and personal interests by calling an attorney immediately.
Work with a Team That Cares
Serving Houston and all of Texas, our team at Thiessen Law Firm is qualified and prepared to protect your legal rights to the fullest extent. We are true fighters, ready to go to battle for you inside and outside of the criminal courtroom. If you want a top-notch firm on your side that will treat you like family, you have come to the right place.
There’s no time to waste – give us a call at (713) 864-9000 today for a free evaluation of your arson case.
Penalties and Charges for Arson
Texas Penal Code § 28.02 defines arson as the criminal offense that involves intentionally setting fire to any building, structure, property or open land under the following specific circumstances:
- When it is insured against damage/destruction
- When it is owned by another person
- When another person’s property is inside the structure
- When it is subject to a mortgage or other security interest
- When the offense is committed with recklessness and disregard to the safety of others or their property
Things to take into consideration: the value of property, the classification of the property and whether there were any injuries or deaths. Arson includes penalties of the 1st, 2nd and 3rd degrees. In Texas, the accused may face life in prison or 5 to 99 years in prison for a 1st degree felony; 2 to 20 years in prison for a 2nd degree felony; or 2 to 10 years in prison for a 3rd degree felony. A fine of up to $10,000 may also be imposed.
To learn more, call (713) 864-9000 or contact us online. We offer a free, confidential consultation.