Texas Theft Defense Attorney
If you have been charged with theft in Texas, contact attorney Mark Thiessen at 713-864-9000 or request a free case evaluation. Mark is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to ease your concerns and protect your freedom.
Theft is a general label encompassing many specific offenses; it means intentionally depriving someone else of their property without the intent to return it. Charges of theft are very serious, as they are all classified as crimes of moral turpitude. Most job applications ask you whether or not you have ever been charged or convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude, meaning an unfavorable judgment on one of these cases could leave you unemployed – or unable to achieve your potential and drastically alter your future.
Regardless of the circumstances surrounding the case or the evidence allegedly against you, you have the right to an attorney if you’ve been accused of theft. Take immediate action and protect your future by involving a team of Houston theft crime lawyers who will stop at nothing to preserve your constitutional rights.
Theft crimes in Texas include the following:
- Identity theft
- Employee theft
- Unlawful use of a motor vehicle
- Theft by check
- Welfare fraud
- Insurance fraud
- Possession of stolen property
- Stealing cable
- Theft of trade secrets
- Tampering with personal ID numbers
Depending on the value of the alleged loss, you or a loved one could be facing anything from a fine to 99 years in prison. It is imperative that you use your right to remain silent, provide no statements to anyone and contact a skilled theft defense attorney immediately.
Classifications & Penalties for Theft in Texas
Depending on the value of property, the penalties for theft will vary dramatically. According to Texas Penal Code, Chapter 31. Theft, the ranges and classifications are listed below:
- Worth less than $50, class C misdemeanor
- Worth between $50-$500, class B misdemeanor
- Worth between $500-$1500, class A misdemeanor
- Worth between $1,500-$20,000, state jail felony
- Worth between $20,000-$100,000, third degree felony
- Worth between $100,000-$200,000, second degree felony
- Worth $200,000 or more, first degree felony
The biggest factor in your case will be how the value of the stolen property is determined, and Mr. Thiessen has the resources and theft defense skills to argue it down. (Please note that the District Attorney prosecutes cases much harder if the defendant is a public servant or government employee.)
To learn more, call (713) 864-9000 or contact us online. We offer a free, confidential consultation.