Even a first driving while intoxicated (DWI) offense can have serious consequences. In Houston, a driver convicted of a first DWI may face:
- Fine up to $2,000
- 3 to 180 days in jail
- License suspension for 1 year
A surcharge of $1,000 per year may also be assessed by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS), or $2,000 per year if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was .16 or greater. And if your BAC is greater than a 0.15, the case may be enhanced to a Class A Misdemeanor, which doubles the range of punishment and fines.
If you’ve been arrested for DWI, an aggressive defense is your only option if you want to avoid a conviction and significant penalties. Thiessen Law Firm is committed to fighting for drivers across the greater Houston area, and we have a track record of success in this complex and challenging arena.
With our understanding of DWI law, breath and blood testing, field sobriety tests, local courts, and case law, we know exactly how to approach a case with each client’s best interests in mind. We will not settle for anything less than the best result possible.
For more information on our services and how our Houston DWI attorneys can help you, call (713) 999-3959. We are available 24/7 and offer a free consultation to help you get started.
You only have 15 days to
save your license!
If you've been arrested for a DWI or DUI in the state of Texas, you are facing two cases against you. The first one is the criminal case by the state of Texas, and the other is by the Texas Department of Public Safety to suspend your license.Learn More
Fighting for First DWI Offenders in Houston, TX
With breath and blood test evidence, not to mention field sobriety test results, challenging DWI charges is no easy task. Our team is up to the challenge. We are armed with the expertise and information it takes to identify and expose violations of testing protocol, inherent issues with DWI tests, and violations of your constitutional rights. Our trial record of over 100 Not Guilty verdicts speaks for itself.
We can ask the right questions:
- Did the arresting officer have probable cause to pull you over in the first place?
- Were you read your Miranda rights?
- What factors influenced the validity of blood/breath test results?
- Should breath/blood test evidence be rendered inadmissible?
In our experience, no DWI case is hopeless. Whether you are a first-time offender or have prior DWI convictions on your record, our Houston DWI lawyers are standing by to help you get your life and freedom back. Additionally, Attorney Thiessen is also Certified in DWI by the DUI Defense Lawyers Association.
Contact Thiessen Law Firm today online or call us at (713) 999-3959 for a confidential, free case evaluation.