Houston Assault Defense Attorney
Texas Assault Defense Attorney
If you have been charged with assault in Texas, contact attorney Mark Thiessen at 713-864-9000 or request a free case evaluation. Mark is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to ease your concerns and protect your freedom.
Under the Texas Penal Code, one can be convicted of assault if one “intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causes or threatens bodily injury to another person” or if one “intentionally or knowingly causes physical contact with another person or persons with the knowledge that the person will consider that contact to be offensive or undesirable.” (See Texas Penal Code § 22.01(a) below.)
An assault may be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony depending upon the circumstances of the case (see Texas Penal Code § 22.01(b) and (c)). If a public servant or elderly individual is assaulted, one may face enhanced penalties (see Texas Penal Code § 22.01(d)).
More often than not, simple assault is combined with domestic violence and orders of protection (see Texas Penal Code § 22.01(e)). Any domestic assault—commonly referred to as Assault Family Violence (AFV)—will often be linked to family and/or civil law cases. In order to prevent criminal, civil or family consequences, an experienced Houston trial attorney is mandatory.
Examples of Assaultive and Violent Offenses:
- Assault with Bodily Injury
- Assault with a Deadly Weapon
- Sexual Assault
- Assaulting a Police Officer
- Aggravated Robbery
- Aggravated Assault
- Sex Crimes
- Family Violence/Domestic Violence
- Assault Causing Bodily Injury to a Family Member
- Terroristic Threat
Were you arrested and charged with assault in Texas?
If you have been arrested for assault, the first course of action is to consult an attorney. DO NOT provide any statements to police or anyone else regarding the allegation. Assume that everyone you speak to about the charge is recording you. Assault and AFV could result in penalties that affect citizenship, child custody, firearm possession and personal freedom, including jail time.
Due to the serious ramifications of an assault or AFV conviction, Mark Thiessen is dedicated to providing you with a professional, aggressive defense against all types of assault charges. Depending on the severity of the offense, punishment ranges from a $500 fine to 20 years in prison. The alleged damage to the victim, the method of assault and any prior convictions or history are necessary factors in evaluating the case.
If you have been charged with assault or assault family violence, contact attorney Mark Thiessen at 713-864-9000 immediately. He is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to ease your concerns and protect your freedom.
NOTE: This information is not legal advice. It is provided for educational use only. If you need legal advice regarding an assault charge in the State of Texas, please contact Mark Thiessen at 713-864-9000, or request a free case evaluation.