The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) has the authority to assess surcharges based on specific traffic offenses. These surcharges are assessed in addition to other fees and penalties associated with traffic offenses, such as license suspension or revocation. Depending on the type of offense, you could face an annual surcharge of up to $2,000 for 3 years.
A significant surcharge is just one of the potential consequences of an arrest for driving while intoxicated (DWI). You may face jail time and other fines, not to mention license suspension. Fighting back is the only way to protect your interests.
We Have What it Takes
At Thiessen Law Firm, we have the track record of success and commitment you need to set your life back on track. Our Houston DWI attorneys are seasoned trial lawyers who fight to win. In fact, we have secured over 100 Not Guilty verdicts.
We are known for our meticulous preparation and aggressive defense representation in a range of DWI and other criminal matters. Additionally, our attorney is Board Certified in DUI Defense by the DUI Defense Lawyers Association.
To learn more about our rights and how to avoid DWI surcharges, call (713) 999-3959 for a free case evaluation. We are here 24/7 to offer our skilled help.
You only have 15 days to
save your license!
If you've been arrested for a DWI or DUI in the state of Texas, you are facing two cases against you. The first one is the criminal case by the state of Texas, and the other is by the Texas Department of Public Safety to suspend your license.Learn More
You may have points added to your driving record for certain traffic offenses, such as speeding or running a red light. Two points will be added for a typical traffic conviction and three will be added for a traffic conviction that results in a collision. If you accumulate six points on your record, you will face a $100 surcharge. You will face a $25 surcharge for every additional point.
DWI Conviction Surcharges
Conviction-based surcharges can be substantial and are assessed annually for three years. DPS will automatically assess these surcharges once they receive notification from the court of a conviction.
The following surcharges may be assessed for DWI offenses:
- DWI (first offense): $1,000
- DWI (second or subsequent offense): $1,500
- DWI (BAC of 0.16 or greater): $2,000
For more information on DWI surcharges, click here to visit the DPS website.
You can’t afford to take a chance with your reputation and freedom. Call Thiessen Law Firm today at (713) 999-3959 to discover how our Houston, TX DPS lawyers can help you.