If you’re facing a lost driver’s license in Texas as a result of a DWI, knowing the difference between a revoked vs. suspended license can give you some insight into what you’re up against.
As with every other state, the legal alcohol limit in Texas for your blood is 0.08 percent. If you are charged with a DWI, that means your blood alcohol content (BAC) was over the legal limit. A DWI conviction comes with many harsh penalties, including the suspension or revocation of your license. And this can cause some serious problems in your daily life.
You only have 15 days to save your driver’s license. Don’t wait to contact a DWI defense attorney to help you save your driver’s license and your driving privileges.
Is suspended the same as revoked?
No –– between a revoked vs. suspended license, one is much worse. Let us explain.
A DWI license suspension means that your license will be taken away for only a limited period of time –– Texas law limits suspensions for no longer than one year (unless you’re convicted of a Felony DWI). How long your license can be suspended depends on your specific case.
- First DWI in Texas: 90 days or up to a year
- If you refuse chemical testing, your license can be suspended for up to 180 days.
- Repeated DWI offense: your license can be suspended for up to two years.
Having your license suspended means that you can get it back. In the meantime, you can apply to receive an Occupational Driver’s License (ODL), which is a restricted license that allows you to drive to work and/or school. This restricted license is difficult to obtain, which makes finding the right DWI defense attorney all the more important.
What does a revoked license mean in Texas? Having your license revoked means that it is taken away and won’t be given back. In other words, you will not be allowed to drive a vehicle AT ALL and will have to go through the entire process of getting a brand new license. Imagine not being able to drive anywhere. This can make life very difficult if you cannot find a way to transport yourself to school or work. On top of that, if you are caught driving with a revoked or suspended license, you will be charged with a criminal misdemeanor in Texas.
According to the Texas Department of Public Safety, your license can be revoked if the following situations regarding a DWI occur:
- You caused an injury or fatality by driving under the influence
- This is your second, third, or fourth DWI and you have failed to complete a Repeat Offender Course
- If you fail to complete a DWI education course 180 days after your conviction date
How do I get my license back after suspension?
After you’ve been hit with a DWI charge, you will need to request a hearing with the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) within 15 days of your arrest to appeal the license suspension. This is known as an Administrative License Revocation (ALR) hearing. When you work with our firm, we’ll request and attend this hearing on your behalf. This hearing will typically occur 5-8 months after your arrest, but you do not have to attend this hearing.
At the ALR hearing, if the police officer who arrested you attends the hearing, your attorney can cross-examine and discredit their testimony on your behalf. If successful, this can result in the charges against you being dropped. However, if you lose the civil case, your license will be suspended and you can file for an ODL.
Once the time of suspension is up, you will have to file with the Department of Public Safety with proof of insurance and pay the fee to have your license reinstated.
At Risk of Losing Your License? Contact Thiessen Law Firm ASAP to Save Your Driving Privileges.
Now that you know the difference between a revoked vs. suspended license, if you are charged with a DWI, you must hire an attorney that you can trust ASAP. The strength of the attorney-client relationship can be the difference between conviction and freedom. You need a serious and aggressive attorney fighting in your corner.
With a Board Certification in DWI Defense Law, Mark Thiessen from Thiessen Law Firm is the top DWI attorney in Houston. With his help and expertise, you can save your driver’s license and driving privileges. He is your best shot at avoiding a license suspension or revocation and the harsh penalties that come with a DWI in Texas.
For top DWI defense, Contact Mark Thiessen at 713-903-7148, or request a free case evaluation.
More Helpful Articles by Thiessen Law Firm:
- How to Get a DWI Deferred Texas
- Do the Police Have the Right to Search Your Car?
- Can You Get a DWI for Weed in Texas?
- Can CBD Oil Make You Fail a Drug Test?
- 5 Facts About DWI Nondisclosure Texas