What’s life like for a gun charge first-time offender? What types of gun charges are there, and how much time would you get for one? Is there even such a thing in Texas?
While Texas is known and often celebrated for having less restrictive gun laws, you can still get into some pretty serious trouble for unlawfully possessing or carrying a firearm in Texas. For more information on parties who are not allowed to carry a firearm, check out our recent article that answers the question “Can a felon own a gun in Texas?”
How much time do you get for a gun charge when you’re a first-time offender?
If you’re wondering how much time you can get for a gun charge as a first-time offender, the answer is typically not much. A gun charge is usually considered a misdemeanor; however, one can be charged with a felony the first time around depending on how the gun is used or possessed in certain situations. Your criminal history and the circumstances surrounding the gun charge event will determine whether or not you’re charged with a misdemeanor or a felony.
Even the harshest of misdemeanors are only punishable for up to one year, and you can be fined up to $4,000. But if you are convicted of a felony, you can expect up to 10 years of prison time and up to a $10,000 fine.
Can you get probation for a gun charge?
It is possible only to get probation for a misdemeanor gun charge. This probation can last up to 24 months. During this time, you must comply with court orders, or you could risk winding up in jail. How about a felony drug charge? Well, you could still get probation…it would be up to 10 years long and could include the up to $10,000 fine.
What types of gun charges are there?
There are a variety of ways you can find yourself with a gun charge. Here are a couple of different ways this might happen:
- You are carrying a gun in the wrong place or you are open carrying without a license. Take a look at the laws for concealed carry in Texas.
- You have a firearm and you are not legally allowed to have one. Speaking of which, can you buy a gun with a DWI?
- You sold or transferred a gun to someone who is not legally allowed to possess a firearm.
It’s important to know your gun rights. Check out these gun rights explained by a Texas gun lawyer.
Have a gun possession charge? Contact Thiessen Law Firm today.
If you’re a gun charge first time-offender, you should immediately contact a gun rights lawyer in Houston. The sooner you understand your rights and have experienced legal representation, the better off you’ll be.
Here at Thiessen Law Firm, we’re well-versed in all things Houston gun laws, and we’d love to stand in your corner. For more information, give us a call at 713-864-9000 or fill out an online request for a free consultation.
Other Helpful Articles from Thiessen Law Firm:
- How to Beat a Felony Drug Charge
- Tips From Child Custody Lawyers for Fathers
- Intoxication Manslaughter in Houston
- Top Texas Gun Lawyer Explains Gun Rights
- Can a Felon Own a Gun in Texas?