If you’ve found yourself searching “how do you get your license back after a DWI in Texas” after losing yours, you’ve come to the right place. Although getting your license back after a DWI can be a confusing process, and it can be difficult to know all of the steps to take, Houston DWI lawyer Mark Thiessen is here to walk you through it.
When you get a DWI in Texas, the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) will suspend your license. This can stay on your record for up to two years and make it difficult to drive or even obtain insurance. You may be worrying about how long it will take to reinstate your license after a DWI, or how much it will end up costing you.
Fortunately, Texas law allows people facing DWI convictions to petition for reinstatement of their driver’s license in some cases. The process usually takes 2-3 months and the cost can range from $100-$500, depending on how long your suspension is for. The good news is that with help from an experienced DWI lawyer, the process can be much faster and easier. Wondering exactly how to reinstate your drivers license in Texas? Keep reading and we’ll tell you.
What happens after DWI in Texas?
After a DWI in Texas, you will have to face disciplinary action from the court and Texas DPS DWI license suspension. The court may impose fines, jail time, or both. Depending on how many previous DWIs you have, the DPS will suspend your license for anywhere from 90 days to two years. However, there are ways to fight against and reduce the suspension length.
In most cases, a DWI will result in an automatic suspension of your driver’s license if you do not try to fight it. The length of the suspension will depend on factors such as blood alcohol content (BAC), prior offenses (for example, if this is your DWI in Texas 2nd offense), and whether or not you took a breath or blood test. Typically, the suspension will last anywhere from 90 days to two years.
It’s important to note that license suspension and license revocation are different. Suspensions are temporary, which is not the case if you get your license revoked, meaning your license will not be given back.
How do I get my license back after a DWI in Texas?
To get your license back after a DWI in Texas, you will first have to complete any court-imposed sanctions. If you’re convicted of a DWI, there are other penalties that can be handed down by the court, including fines, community service, or jail time. These penalties are in addition to the driver’s license suspension in Texas and must be satisfied before you can get your license back.
Once the court-imposed penalties have been met, you will need to petition the Texas DPS to reinstate your driver’s license. The process usually takes 2-3 months and requires payment of a reinstatement fee, which is typically around $100-$500 depending on how long your suspension is for – more on this below.
License reinstatement application
If you win the ALR hearing*, which is a hearing to contest the suspension of your license, DPS will not suspend your license. However, if you don’t win the hearing or miss the deadline, you can still apply to have your license reinstated. You’ll need to fill out an application form and submit payment for the fee. Once your application is approved, you’ll have to wait a few weeks for DPS to process it and finally reinstate your license.
The good news is that an experienced DWI lawyer can help you through this process and make it easier. They will be able to advise you on how to best proceed and what paperwork needs to be filled out. They will also be able to represent you at your ALR hearing and make your case about why your license should not be suspended.
*You must make the request for an ALR hearing within 15 days of being arrested for a DWI in order to be eligible.
How long does it take to reinstate a license in Texas?
It usually takes 2-3 months for DPS to process an application to reinstate a drivers license in Texas. However, it can be much faster if you have an experienced DWI lawyer to help. They can ensure the paperwork is filled out correctly and submitted on time, and also make sure you have all the necessary documents for your ALR hearing.
Continue reading: Can I get an ID if my license is suspended?
How much does it cost to reinstate your drivers license in Texas?
The cost of reinstating your driver’s license after a DWI in Texas varies but usually falls between $100-$500. The cost depends on how long your suspension is for and the type of license you are reinstating (commercial or regular). Your DWI lawyer can help you estimate how much it will cost to get your license back.
Fighting a DWI license suspension in Texas? Thiessen Law Firm can help.
So, how do you get your license back after a DWI in Texas? In order to get your license back after a DWI in Texas, once the court-imposed penalties have been met, you can petition the Texas DPS to reinstate your driver’s license. The process usually takes 2-3 months and requires payment of a reinstatement fee. An experienced DWI lawyer can help make this process easier.
The Houston DWI attorneys at Thiessen Law Firm are well-versed in how to get your license back after a DWI in Texas. They can help you navigate the complex legal system to reinstate your driver’s license quickly and efficiently. If you are facing license suspension, they can help you fight it, restore your driving privileges, and avoid the other penalties associated with a criminal DWI case.
Call Thiessen Law Firm today at 713-864-9000 or contact us online for a free case evaluation.
More Helpful Articles by Thiessen Law Firm:
- The Problem With Non-Standardized Field Sobriety Tests
- Does Delta-8 Show Up On a Drug Test?
- One-Leg Stand Test: Believable or Bogus?
- Walk and Turn Test: Believable or Bogus?
- Everything You Need to Know About Delta-8 DWI in Texas