If you have a Texas license-to-carry (LTC), then odds are you’ve wondered how Texas LTC reciprocity is and how it works. In other words, you’ve likely wondered whether your LTC transfers across state lines (or vice versa) every time you planned to take a trip within the United States.
Thiessen Law Firm has you covered. Let’s go over the basics of Texas LTC reciprocity and smooth out any wrinkles in your understanding of where on a U.S. map your LTC is valid.
Want to get straight into the nitty-gritty? Click here to see which states honor Texas LTC reciprocity, as published by The Texas Department of Public Safety.
What are the Texas concealed carry requirements?
Before we get into Texas LTC reciprocity laws, let’s quickly cover the LTC basics. We’ve covered gun rights often in our blog, especially when it comes to unlawful carrying of a weapon in Texas. Still, when it comes to Texas LTC requirements specifically, there are some heavy-hitting laws worth reviewing. Here are just some of the requirements to get an LTC in Texas:
- You must be a legal resident of the state for at least six months preceding applying
- You must be at least 21 years old
- You must not be convicted of a felony
- You must not be charged with a Class A or Class B Misdemeanor or a Felony
- You must not be a fugitive from justice for a felony or Class A or Class B Misdemeanor
- You must legally be able to purchase a handgun under federal law
- You must not be delinquent in child support payments
- You must not be subject to a restraining order
While there are a few more requirements, if you meet the above parameters, then you may be able to apply for a Texas LTC successfully.
As far as the cost for a Texas LTC, you’ll be happy to know it’s relatively reasonable. For most individuals, the initial fee for a Texas LTC is $40. Your initial license is valid for four years, at which point you must pay another $40 fee to renew your license. Afterward, it’s valid for the next five years.
If you’d like more information on Texas LTC permits and gun rights, check out some of the other articles:
- Texas Concealed Carry Laws
- Can I Carry a Gun in My Car in Texas?
- Texas vs. Federal Gun Laws for Felons
- Texas Gun Rights
What states recognize a Texas concealed carry permit?
If you’re traveling across state lines and you want to bring your gun with you, it’s only normal to be nervous about Texas LTC reciprocity laws. What if you get pulled over, and the state you’re in doesn’t recognize your LTC? Will you be arrested right then and there?
It’s certainly possible. While many states do honor Texas LTCs, some don’t. And getting caught with a concealed firearm in a state not honoring reciprocity can carry severe legal consequences.
This possibility is why it’s essential to know which states have a signed reciprocity agreement with Texas. And even then, it’s even more important to understand the details of this agreement.
States honoring a Texas LTC
- Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado*, Delaware, Florida*, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan*, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina*, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
*TX residential license only
States NOT honoring a Texas LTC
- California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Hampshire, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington.
You can check out a detailed reciprocity map from USCCA. Make sure to click on each state to determine whether or not they have restrictions placed on the LTC.
How can I make sure I don’t get in trouble while crossing state lines?
While many states do have Texas LTC reciprocity and accept Texas LTCs, it doesn’t mean they honor all of Texas’s gun laws. If you are planning to travel with your gun, you must research the laws of the specific state(s) you’ll be visiting — especially if you’re taking a road trip into areas without reciprocity.
When driving across state lines with a concealed firearm, it could be a good idea to keep your gun in a travel-sized gun safe. If your road trip takes you through a state with more restrictive gun laws, make sure the firearm is unloaded, locked away, and kept separate from your ammunition.
Like Texas, some states require you to inform a police officer of your concealed firearm if asked. These states include:
- South Carolina
Each state is unique, and protections you’re used to in Texas may not apply. Be sure to look up the specific laws for each state you’ll be visiting before traveling with a concealed firearm.
What is constitutional carry?
Constitutional carry, also known as permitless carry or unrestricted carry, refers to the practice adopted by some states of allowing an individual living or traveling within the state to carry a handgun without a license or a permit. Constitutional carry came to the forefront in 2008, when the supreme court decided requiring permits or allowing bans undercut the 2nd amendment and a citizen’s right of self-defense.
Many states, including Texas, have not adopted constitutional carry, but others have constitutional carry in-full, while others have a limited form of the law.
The U.S. states honoring constitutional carry include:
- New Hampshire
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
The U.S. states with constitutional carry with stipulations:
- Idaho (residents only)
- Illinois (unloaded, fully enclosed weapon, loaded magazine)
- Montana (outside city limits)
- New Mexico (unloaded weapon, loaded magazine)
- North Dakota (residents only, concealed carry only)
- Washington (outdoor recreational activities)
- Wyoming (residents only)
Note some states (Maine, New Hampshire, and Washington) do fully or partially adopt constitutional carry and are also states that do not honor Texas concealed carry reciprocity. Depending on your circumstances, you may be allowed to carry a handgun in those states as a Texas resident.
Have more questions about carrying a concealed handgun and Texas concealed carry reciprocity?
Still unsure about Texas concealed carry reciprocity laws? You’re not alone. We’re asked questions regarding LTCs in Texas all the time, and with one of the best Houston gun rights lawyers, Ronnie Yeates, on our team, we are the perfect go-to resource for all your firearm rights needs.
For more information, give us a call at 713-864-9000, fill out an online request for a free consultation, or check out some of our other DWI and gun rights resources.
More Helpful Articles by Thiessen Law Firm:
- Can You Buy a Gun with a Misdemeanor Drug Charge in Texas?
- Can a Felon Own a Gun in Texas?
- Can You Buy a Gun with a DUI in Texas?
- Can I Go to Jail For a Gun Charge?
- Texas vs. Federal Gun Laws for Felons